Comparison
Lectron 80A vs TeslaTap Mini
Which AC Adapter Should You Buy?
Compare Lectron 80A with TeslaTap Mini 60A and 80A: charger permission, certification claims, locks, heat limits and the complete order for your J1772 car.
By thisWATT EditorialUpdated November 3, 20268 min read
On this page · Quick picks
For a J1772 car and an existing NACS AC charging source that explicitly permit the selected adapter, the Lectron 80A UL 2252 model is our starting pick because its published documentation is more complete. Consider the TeslaTap MINI for its two padlock positions, choosing the exact 60A or 80A version around the permitted setup. For a Tesla Gen 3 Wall Connector covered by the North American manual cited below, choose neither: that manual prohibits adapters.
Already know you need this direction? Stay here for the model and accessory decision. For other connector combinations, use our NACS and J1772 adapter guide.
Quick picks
- Starting pick, after permission: Lectron 80A. Its exact product page claims UL 2252 certification and SGS testing; its manual supplies operating limits and disconnect instructions.
- Alternative for locking both connections: TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP. Its maker documents separate padlock positions at the charging plug and vehicle. Consider the MINI 60 AMP only when the permitted setup stays within its lower rating; obtain the missing documentation before ordering either Mini.
- Keep your supported charging option: if the vehicle or charging-source instructions prohibit the adapter, neither candidate earns a purchase recommendation.
Permission comes before connector fit
Both adapter makers advertise compatibility with Tesla Wall Connectors. However, Tesla's North American Gen 3 Wall Connector manual says, “No adapters or conversion adapters are allowed to be used.” That is a direct conflict with treating either maker's compatibility claim as permission to use it on that equipment.
The same Tesla manual offers an All Vehicles access setting. We do not interpret that setting as an exception to the adapter prohibition. For that Wall Connector, keep an approved direct connection unless Tesla supplies instructions permitting the exact adapter and equipment combination. For a hotel or workplace, also obtain the operator's permission; do not treat TeslaTap's advertised bypass circuit as authorization to use restricted equipment.
Check the car's exact model-year and US manual separately. For example, the 2025 F-150 Lightning manual describes a NACS-to-CCS1 DC adapter and expressly excludes AC use. That section does not approve either AC candidate here, and the name “TeslaTap MINI — Lightning Version” is not evidence of Ford approval.
- Yes: Intended direction: permitted NACS AC charging source to a J1772 vehicle
- Partly: Vehicle, charging-source maker and site operator must allow the selected setup
- No: Tesla Superchargers and other DC fast chargers are outside these adapters' intended use
Compare the exact adapters
These are manufacturer figures and documentation findings, not measured performance. “Not stated” refers to the cited model documents, not proof that a feature is absent.
Published electrical rating
- Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS
- 80A, 240V AC; up to 19.2kW
- TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP
- Up to 60A continuous; 110–250V AC
- TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP
- Up to 80A; 110–250V AC
Product-level safety statement
- Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS
- Maker claims UL 2252 certification and SGS testing
- TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP
- Finished-adapter listing not stated
- TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP
- Finished-adapter listing not stated
Operating temperature
- Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS
- −22°F to 122°F
- TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP
- Not stated
- TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP
- Not stated
Thermal protection
- Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS
- Maker describes a built-in temperature sensor
- TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP
- Sensor/cutoff not stated
- TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP
- Sensor/cutoff not stated
Carry weight
- Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS
- 1.27 lb in manual
- TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP
- Not stated
- TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP
- Not stated
Padlock provisions
- Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS
- Not specified in cited manual
- TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP
- Two positions: charging plug and vehicle
- TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP
- Two positions: charging plug and vehicle
Revision to identify
- Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS
- Exact 80A model and current manual
- TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP
- “NEW DESIGN”; revised ground-pin fit
- TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP
- “NEW DESIGN”; revised ground-pin fit
Full comparison table
Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.
| Purchase detail | Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS | TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP | TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published electrical rating | 80A, 240V AC; up to 19.2kW | Up to 60A continuous; 110–250V AC | Up to 80A; 110–250V AC |
| Product-level safety statement | Maker claims UL 2252 certification and SGS testing | Finished-adapter listing not stated | Finished-adapter listing not stated |
| Operating temperature | −22°F to 122°F | Not stated | Not stated |
| Thermal protection | Maker describes a built-in temperature sensor | Sensor/cutoff not stated | Sensor/cutoff not stated |
| Carry weight | 1.27 lb in manual | Not stated | Not stated |
| Padlock provisions | Not specified in cited manual | Two positions: charging plug and vehicle | Two positions: charging plug and vehicle |
| Revision to identify | Exact 80A model and current manual | “NEW DESIGN”; revised ground-pin fit | “NEW DESIGN”; revised ground-pin fit |
Scroll horizontally to see every column
| Purchase detail | Lectron 80A, LENACSJ177280ABLKUS | TeslaTap MINI 60 AMP | TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published electrical rating | 80A, 240V AC; up to 19.2kW | Up to 60A continuous; 110–250V AC | Up to 80A; 110–250V AC |
| Product-level safety statement | Maker claims UL 2252 certification and SGS testing | Finished-adapter listing not stated | Finished-adapter listing not stated |
| Operating temperature | −22°F to 122°F | Not stated | Not stated |
| Thermal protection | Maker describes a built-in temperature sensor | Sensor/cutoff not stated | Sensor/cutoff not stated |
| Carry weight | 1.27 lb in manual | Not stated | Not stated |
| Padlock provisions | Not specified in cited manual | Two positions: charging plug and vehicle | Two positions: charging plug and vehicle |
| Revision to identify | Exact 80A model and current manual | “NEW DESIGN”; revised ground-pin fit | “NEW DESIGN”; revised ground-pin fit |
Sources: Lectron product page, Lectron manual, MINI 60 AMP and MINI 80 AMP.
Starting pick where permitted: Lectron 80A
Match LENACSJ177280ABLKUS, the NACS-to-J1772 AC model, to the current manual linked by Lectron. The manual limits the charging-source output to 80A or less and lists 240V AC maximum. Lectron's separate 48A adapter carries UL 2251 language; do not substitute it for this comparison's UL 2252 model.

Lectron
Lectron Tesla (NACS) to J1772 EV Adapter (80A, UL 2252)
An AC adapter that lets a J1772-port EV charge from Tesla Wall Connectors, Mobile Connectors and Destination Chargers, rated 80A at 240V and certified to UL 2252.
Check package and model options
- 80 A max
- NACS to J1772
The case for this Lectron is its documentation: a model-specific manual, stated −22°F to 122°F operating range, and a temperature sensor described on its product page. The page says hot conditions can reduce or pause charging. Those are published protections, not a promise that charging cannot overheat.
There are meaningful conflicts. The product bullets and manual say IP67, while the product-page FAQ says IP54. The FAQ permits leaving the adapter attached, whereas the manual says to unplug it after each use. Follow the manual's removal instruction and seek clarification on weather protection; do not assume the higher rating settles the disagreement. The manual also warns against submersion or prolonged heavy rain.
The manual's 1.27 lb weight is useful for packing, but it does not establish a carry-size winner when comparable Mini measurements are unpublished. Its box list identifies the adapter; do not assume a case or locks are included.
Check price on Amazon, or check the exact model at Lectron. Confirm seller coverage separately: the direct-purchase policy below should not be assumed to apply to every marketplace seller.
Alternative for padlock provisions: TeslaTap MINI
The maker's current MINI 60 AMP and MINI 80 AMP pages both identify a NEW DESIGN for oversized ground pins on Rivian and RAV4 EVs and claim easier handle connection and removal. That is the maker's claim; we have not compared insertion force. Ask for that exact design when ordering, rather than accepting an unspecified “Mini.”
Both pages describe two padlock positions, one securing the charging plug to the Mini and one securing the Mini to the vehicle. That is a concrete reason to consider this family if locking both interfaces matters. It does not quantify theft resistance.
The 60A model's page states continuous charging up to that current. The 80A model supplies the higher stated current ceiling. The Lightning Version is separately advertised at 80A / 250V, with a custom Lightning logo; the name does not establish a faster charge than the ordinary Mini 80A. The old MINI 40 AMP is explicitly discontinued, with the maker warning about its use on newer EVs.
The documentation gap changes our recommendation. The cited Mini pages do not supply operating-temperature limits, a thermal cutoff specification, a finished-adapter safety listing, carry measurements or a warranty duration. Obtain those details and operating instructions for the exact version before purchase. The store category uses “UL RATED HANDLE and CABLE” for other TeslaTap products; that wording does not establish a Mini's finished-product certification.
Use the maker's links above to check the exact Mini. No Amazon listing is verified here for either Mini version.
Will 80A charge faster than 60A?
Extra adapter capacity cannot increase the charging source's output or the car's onboard-charger limit. Lectron's manual expressly says speed depends on both. As an illustrative comparison, a source limited to 48A cannot deliver 80A merely because you attach the higher-rated adapter; Tesla's cited Gen 3 manual lists 48A maximum output.
Choose around the lowest applicable limit: charging source, adapter and vehicle. If an explicitly approved setup could exceed 60A, do not use the Mini 60A. An 80A rating also does not justify exceeding the Lectron's 240V limit. TeslaTap's 250V figures describe its own adapters, not an upgrade to Lectron's voltage rating.
For certification, UL Solutions identifies UL 2252 as the standard for adapters used with EV couplers. Our Lectron recommendation relies on the maker's claim for this exact product, not an independently matched certificate number. Request a matching certificate and product marking if your vehicle maker or charging site requires certification evidence. Do not turn a certification statement into blanket vehicle approval.
How we choose
We compare official product pages, the exact Lectron manual, a US vehicle manual, charging-source restrictions and UL's explanation of the adapter standard. We have not physically evaluated these adapters. The picks reflect the available documentation and purchase conditions; we do not rank unmeasured heat rise, insertion effort or durability. Missing Mini specifications and conflicting Lectron instructions remain visible. See how we choose and our disclosure.
Complete the order before a trip or gift
Lectron
- Essential item
- Exact 80A NACS-to-J1772 adapter; manual box list identifies one adapter
- Optional items and checks
- Confirm protective storage and any locking accessory separately
TeslaTap
- Essential item
- Exact MINI 60 AMP or MINI 80 AMP from the maker
- Optional items and checks
- Check compatible padlocks for both positions and the separately listed Mini case
Neither permitted
- Essential item
- Keep an approved direct charging connection
- Optional items and checks
- Choose suitable J1772 equipment with our Level 2 charger guide
Full comparison table
Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.
| Order | Essential item | Optional items and checks |
|---|---|---|
| Lectron | Exact 80A NACS-to-J1772 adapter; manual box list identifies one adapter | Confirm protective storage and any locking accessory separately |
| TeslaTap | Exact MINI 60 AMP or MINI 80 AMP from the maker | Check compatible padlocks for both positions and the separately listed Mini case |
| Neither permitted | Keep an approved direct charging connection | Choose suitable J1772 equipment with our Level 2 charger guide |
Scroll horizontally to see every column
| Order | Essential item | Optional items and checks |
|---|---|---|
| Lectron | Exact 80A NACS-to-J1772 adapter; manual box list identifies one adapter | Confirm protective storage and any locking accessory separately |
| TeslaTap | Exact MINI 60 AMP or MINI 80 AMP from the maker | Check compatible padlocks for both positions and the separately listed Mini case |
| Neither permitted | Keep an approved direct charging connection | Choose suitable J1772 equipment with our Level 2 charger guide |
TeslaTap's own store identifies itself as the manufacturer, making it the documented direct route. Its Mini Padlock is listed separately. The Mini case is a separate fitted accessory: its IP67 claim applies to the case, and cannot establish the adapter's ingress rating. Confirm availability before planning a complete gift order.
For a new direct Lectron purchase, its published policy gives standard products a two-year limited warranty and a 30-day return window. Returns require unused, undamaged goods in original packaging and proof of purchase; ordinary return shipping is the buyer's responsibility. It excludes unauthorized-reseller purchases from returns. Confirm authorization and written terms for the selected seller.
TeslaTap's delivery policy says unused goods may be accepted with a 20% restocking charge, while also describing sales as final once shipped. Obtain written clarification before buying a compatibility-dependent gift; the cited policy does not establish a warranty duration.
For holiday travel, verify the actual AC charging site and keep a supported fallback. Neither adapter supports Superchargers. A new hardwired charger needs a licensed electrician and a permit where required (DOE installation guidance); this adapter comparison is not installation guidance.
Match the order
Confirm the exact adapter revision, seller terms and selected accessories.
Retain the instructions
Keep the model-specific operating instructions and purchase receipt with the order.
Disconnect correctly
Lectron says to stop charging, remove the adapter from the car, then separate the charging plug and store the adapter.
Verdict
Choose Lectron 80A when both equipment makers permit it and its documented limits fit your setup. Consider TeslaTap MINI 80 AMP for its padlock provisions, or MINI 60 AMP within that version's rating, only after obtaining the missing safety, operating and warranty details. If permission is absent or the cited Tesla Gen 3 prohibition applies, keep an approved direct charging option and buy neither.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Lectron 80A or TeslaTap Mini?
Lectron is our starting choice where the vehicle and charging-source makers permit it: its documentation includes an 80A rating, a UL 2252 certification claim and an operating-temperature range. TeslaTap Mini provides two padlock positions and separate 60A and 80A versions, but its cited product pages leave important safety and warranty details unstated. Neither is our recommendation where equipment instructions prohibit adapters.
Will either adapter work at a Tesla Supercharger?
No. Lectron's manual restricts its adapter to NACS AC chargers, and TeslaTap explicitly excludes the Supercharger network. These products connect a compatible AC charging plug to a J1772 vehicle inlet. For example, the NACS-to-CCS1 adapter described in the 2025 F-150 Lightning manual is a separate DC product that Ford says must not be used for AC charging.
Should I buy the TeslaTap Mini 60A or 80A?
Consider the 60A only for an explicitly permitted setup that stays within its rating. Choose the 80A version if the approved charging path requires more current capacity, without exceeding any other component's limit. TeslaTap rates the Mini 60A for continuous charging up to 60A and the Mini 80A up to 80A. Extra adapter capacity cannot raise the charging source's output or the vehicle's onboard-charger limit.
Is the TeslaTap Mini UL listed?
The cited Mini 60A and 80A product pages do not state a finished-adapter safety listing, so we cannot confirm one from those documents. The store's UL-rated-handle language for other TeslaTap products does not establish certification for a Mini. Lectron's exact 80A page claims UL 2252 certification and SGS testing; this comparison does not independently verify a certificate number for either product.
Can I leave the Lectron adapter on my charger?
Follow the model-specific manual, which says to unplug the adapter after each use. Lectron's web FAQ says it can remain connected but recommends removing it for storage, so the instructions conflict. The manual also says to stop charging first, remove the adapter from the vehicle, and then separate the NACS plug. Do not pull the charging-source plug out of the adapter during active charging.
Related guides
Best picks · EV Adapters
Best CCS1-to-Tesla Adapters: Check CCS Support First
Choose a CCS1-to-Tesla adapter with a vehicle-support check, exact-version comparison and network rules. See when to buy Tesla, seek a retrofit or keep yours.
Buying guide · EV Adapters
NACS and J1772 Adapters: Which One Your EV Needs

J1772 to NACS or NACS to J1772? Match your car's port to the charger's plug, choose a UL 2252 adapter, and check which Supercharger adapter your automaker approves.