Best picks
Best CCS1-to-Tesla Adapters
Check CCS Support First
Choose a CCS1-to-Tesla adapter with a vehicle-support check, exact-version comparison and network rules. See when to buy Tesla, seek a retrofit or keep yours.
By thisWATT EditorialUpdated November 3, 20268 min read
On this page · Quick picks: buy for your car and route
For a CCS-enabled Tesla, our starting pick is Tesla's own CCS1 to NACS Adapter, ordered only after Tesla confirms the exact vehicle and part. If support is not enabled, check retrofit eligibility first: Tesla's Model 3 manual directs owners to the app for a hardware retrofit and says availability varies. Keep a suitable, undamaged Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter you already own unless Tesla identifies a reason to replace it.
Quick picks: buy for your car and route
Compare specifications and all conditions
CCS support enabled; buying an adapter
- Our pick
- Tesla CCS1 to NACS Adapter
- Before ordering
- Confirm the exact part and your intended network's rules
Support not enabled
- Our pick
- Tesla app/service assessment first
- Before ordering
- Get the complete installed quote and confirm whether an adapter is included
Already own a compatible Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter
- Our pick
- Keep it if it meets your needs
- Before ordering
- Check condition, vehicle support and network acceptance
Considering LENZ or Lectron
- Our pick
- No third-party buy recommendation here
- Before ordering
- Establish Tesla authorization and network acceptance for that exact adapter
Full comparison table
Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.
| Your situation | Our pick | Before ordering |
|---|---|---|
| CCS support enabled; buying an adapter | Tesla CCS1 to NACS Adapter | Confirm the exact part and your intended network's rules |
| Support not enabled | Tesla app/service assessment first | Get the complete installed quote and confirm whether an adapter is included |
| Already own a compatible Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter | Keep it if it meets your needs | Check condition, vehicle support and network acceptance |
| Considering LENZ or Lectron | No third-party buy recommendation here | Establish Tesla authorization and network acceptance for that exact adapter |
Scroll horizontally to see every column
| Your situation | Our pick | Before ordering |
|---|---|---|
| CCS support enabled; buying an adapter | Tesla CCS1 to NACS Adapter | Confirm the exact part and your intended network's rules |
| Support not enabled | Tesla app/service assessment first | Get the complete installed quote and confirm whether an adapter is included |
| Already own a compatible Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter | Keep it if it meets your needs | Check condition, vehicle support and network acceptance |
| Considering LENZ or Lectron | No third-party buy recommendation here | Establish Tesla authorization and network acceptance for that exact adapter |
EVgo specifically approves Tesla-manufactured CCS1 adapters and excludes Tesla adapters made by other brands. Electrify America requires both automaker authorization for the specified vehicle and UL2252 certification. Those rules decide our shortlist before connector fit or advertised speed. For the broader connector selector, see our NACS and J1772 adapter guide.
Check CCS support on the exact Tesla
Tesla's older adapter manual sends owners to Controls > Software > Additional Vehicle Information or Tesla support to establish compatibility. The current Model 3 manual calls the entry CCS and 3rd-party NACS DC Fast Charging Support. Check the actual car, including a used vehicle or one with replacement charging hardware; do not use its badge or registration year as your compatibility test.
Tesla documents these Model 3 outcomes:
Enabled
- Meaning
- Supports CCS communication; a CCS station needs an adapter
- Purchase decision
- Compare the compatible Tesla adapter and network rules
Not enabled
- Meaning
- CCS communication is not currently supported; app shows retrofit eligibility
- Purchase decision
- Resolve the hardware/service requirement first
Not compatible
- Meaning
- Model 3 cannot support CCS communication
- Purchase decision
- Do not buy an adapter as a workaround
Full comparison table
Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.
| Screen result | Meaning | Purchase decision |
|---|---|---|
| Enabled | Supports CCS communication; a CCS station needs an adapter | Compare the compatible Tesla adapter and network rules |
| Not enabled | CCS communication is not currently supported; app shows retrofit eligibility | Resolve the hardware/service requirement first |
| Not compatible | Model 3 cannot support CCS communication | Do not buy an adapter as a workaround |
Scroll horizontally to see every column
| Screen result | Meaning | Purchase decision |
|---|---|---|
| Enabled | Supports CCS communication; a CCS station needs an adapter | Compare the compatible Tesla adapter and network rules |
| Not enabled | CCS communication is not currently supported; app shows retrofit eligibility | Resolve the hardware/service requirement first |
| Not compatible | Model 3 cannot support CCS communication | Do not buy an adapter as a workaround |
For Model S, Model X and Model Y, use the manual on the vehicle and ask Tesla to resolve a missing or unclear support entry; do not transfer the Model 3 table to another car by assumption. Tesla says the in-car manual is customized to vehicle configuration, region and software. Tesla's Cybertruck manual explicitly prohibits third-party charging adapters.
A native NACS cable at a non-Tesla DC station does not necessarily remove the hardware issue: Tesla says Model 3 still needs CCS communication for those stations. Changing the plug alone is not the decision.
Read the support entry
Check the actual car and its own manual; resolve an unclear result with Tesla.
Confirm the complete purchase
If service is required, obtain the installed quote and confirm the included adapter before buying separately.
Try the planned charging route
Follow the station and adapter instructions, and confirm charging on the vehicle display before relying on it.
Tesla vs LENZ vs Lectron: compare the exact versions
Every adapter below receives a CCS1 charging cable and connects to a compatible Tesla; the Lectron Vortex Plus is the reverse-direction product.
Tesla CCS1 to NACS Adapter
- Current / voltage in official manual
- Amps not specified; 1,000V DC
- Enclosure
- IP44
- Certification evidence in manual
- Safety listing not specified
All specifications
- Decision
- First route to check with Tesla
Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter, older manual
- Current / voltage in official manual
- Amps not specified; 500V DC
- Enclosure
- IP44
- Certification evidence in manual
- Safety listing not specified
All specifications
- Decision
- Keep a compatible existing unit if it meets your needs
LENZ ADPT31101, manual v03.04.26
- Current / voltage in official manual
- Amps not specified; 500V DC
- Enclosure
- IP54
- Certification evidence in manual
- SGS listed: UL 2251 / CSA C22.2 No. 282-17
All specifications
- Decision
- Not our Tesla recommendation
Lectron CCS1 to Tesla (NACS), 1,000V manual
- Current / voltage in official manual
- 500A / 1,000V DC
- Enclosure
- IP67
- Certification evidence in manual
- Safety listing not specified in this manual
All specifications
- Decision
- Authorization unresolved; not our Tesla recommendation
Full comparison table
Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.
| Exact adapter/version | Current / voltage in official manual | Enclosure | Certification evidence in manual | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla CCS1 to NACS Adapter | Amps not specified; 1,000V DC | IP44 | Safety listing not specified | First route to check with Tesla |
| Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter, older manual | Amps not specified; 500V DC | IP44 | Safety listing not specified | Keep a compatible existing unit if it meets your needs |
| LENZ ADPT31101, manual v03.04.26 | Amps not specified; 500V DC | IP54 | SGS listed: UL 2251 / CSA C22.2 No. 282-17 | Not our Tesla recommendation |
| Lectron CCS1 to Tesla (NACS), 1,000V manual | 500A / 1,000V DC | IP67 | Safety listing not specified in this manual | Authorization unresolved; not our Tesla recommendation |
Scroll horizontally to see every column
| Exact adapter/version | Current / voltage in official manual | Enclosure | Certification evidence in manual | Decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla CCS1 to NACS Adapter | Amps not specified; 1,000V DC | IP44 | Safety listing not specified | First route to check with Tesla |
| Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter, older manual | Amps not specified; 500V DC | IP44 | Safety listing not specified | Keep a compatible existing unit if it meets your needs |
| LENZ ADPT31101, manual v03.04.26 | Amps not specified; 500V DC | IP54 | SGS listed: UL 2251 / CSA C22.2 No. 282-17 | Not our Tesla recommendation |
| Lectron CCS1 to Tesla (NACS), 1,000V manual | 500A / 1,000V DC | IP67 | Safety listing not specified in this manual | Authorization unresolved; not our Tesla recommendation |
Sources: Tesla CCS1 to NACS manual, older Tesla manual, LENZ manual and Lectron manual. Not specified describes a documentation gap, not a finding that a product lacks certification. Obtain the exact unit's current rating and certification evidence before ordering; do not infer either from another revision.
Best supported purchase route: Tesla CCS1 to NACS Adapter
Tesla's CCS1 to NACS manual specifies 1,000V DC, whereas the older Tesla CCS Combo 1 Adapter manual specifies 500V DC. Order by Tesla's confirmation for your vehicle and region, rather than treating the two names as interchangeable. Both manuals limit use to a Tesla capable of Combo 1 DC charging.
EVgo recognizes Tesla's own CCS Combo 1 Adapter and describes charging speeds up to 250 kW. Tesla warns that even its adapter may be incompatible with some CCS stations. Treat this as an extra charging option, with a backup stop planned.
Adapter-only versus retrofit: buy the standalone item only after vehicle support is settled. For a Model 3 showing not enabled, Tesla directs owners to app-based service eligibility and cautions that retrofit availability varies. Ask for the exact adapter, required vehicle work, installation and included equipment in one written quote; confirm inclusion before placing a separate adapter order. If Tesla cannot confirm the combination, postpone the purchase.
Check your vehicle and the exact adapter with Tesla. Availability and the vehicle-specific offer must be checked in your account.
LENZ CCS1-to-Tesla ADPT31101: useful specs, unresolved purchase fit
LENZ's manual identifies ADPT31101, includes a protective carrying case, and specifies 500V DC, IP54, plus SGS listing to UL 2251 and CSA C22.2 No. 282-17. It restricts Tesla compatibility to vehicles manufactured after 2021 and separately requires CCS support enabled. Follow that product-specific restriction as well as Tesla's own requirements.
The manual advertises output up to 500 kW but does not give an amp rating. We leave current unconfirmed rather than calculating a rating from that power claim. UL Solutions identifies UL 2251 with plugs, receptacles and couplers, and UL 2252 with adapters. Do not substitute one certification claim for the other. See UL's adapter certification explanation and charging standards list.
LENZ's general FAQ describes a 2-year adapter warranty, the manual offers an additional 6 months on registration, and the site's banner promotes a 10-year extended warranty. The scope needs clarification for this exact adapter; we do not assign the banner's term to it. EVgo's exclusion of non-Tesla-made Tesla adapters still applies.
Read LENZ's exact-model manual before considering an order. We have not established Tesla authorization for this adapter.
Lectron CCS1 to Tesla: distinguish the 1,000V and 500V manuals
The LECCSNACS500A1KVBLKUS manual file specifies 500A / 1,000V DC and IP67. The older LEADPCCS500ABLKUS manual instead specifies 500A / 500V DC and IP44. Match the model identifier and supplied manual to the item being sold; a listing titled simply 'CCS to Tesla' does not settle its revision.
Lectron's newer manual specifies operating temperatures of −22°F to 122°F, reducing power at an adapter temperature of 180°F and shutting charging off at 185°F. Those internal protection thresholds do not extend the allowed ambient operating range. Its spec table does not name a safety listing. Request the certificate for the exact revision; a certificate alone would still leave Tesla authorization and network acceptance to resolve.
The Vortex Plus NACS-to-CCS1 serves CCS1 vehicles at NACS DC chargers, so it is not the CCS1-to-Tesla adapter discussed here. For that different purchase, use the adapter direction guide. Read the Lectron CCS1-to-Tesla manual. We have not established Tesla authorization for this adapter.
Which networks can you actually use?
EVgo CCS1
- Documented rule
- Tesla-manufactured CCS1 adapter approved; other brands' Tesla adapters excluded
- What to do
- Start with a vehicle-compatible Tesla adapter
Electrify America
- Documented rule
- Automaker authorization for the specified vehicle plus UL2252 certification required
- What to do
- Verify both for the exact adapter; maker fit claims alone are insufficient
Other CCS1 operators
- Documented rule
- Tesla warns some CCS stations may be incompatible
- What to do
- Check that operator's requirements and keep an alternate stop
Full comparison table
Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.
| Network or connection | Documented rule | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| EVgo CCS1 | Tesla-manufactured CCS1 adapter approved; other brands' Tesla adapters excluded | Start with a vehicle-compatible Tesla adapter |
| Electrify America | Automaker authorization for the specified vehicle plus UL2252 certification required | Verify both for the exact adapter; maker fit claims alone are insufficient |
| Other CCS1 operators | Tesla warns some CCS stations may be incompatible | Check that operator's requirements and keep an alternate stop |
Scroll horizontally to see every column
| Network or connection | Documented rule | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| EVgo CCS1 | Tesla-manufactured CCS1 adapter approved; other brands' Tesla adapters excluded | Start with a vehicle-compatible Tesla adapter |
| Electrify America | Automaker authorization for the specified vehicle plus UL2252 certification required | Verify both for the exact adapter; maker fit claims alone are insufficient |
| Other CCS1 operators | Tesla warns some CCS stations may be incompatible | Check that operator's requirements and keep an alternate stop |
Electrify America says CCS and NACS connector counts vary by station and directs drivers to its app's Charging tab. Check the actual connector at the planned stop before deciding whether this adapter adds a useful route option.
- Yes: EVgo recognizes Tesla-manufactured CCS1 adapters
- No: EVgo excludes other brands' Tesla adapters
- Partly: Electrify America requires automaker authorization and UL2252 certification
- Partly: A compatible-looking connector does not establish vehicle communication support
Sources: EVgo's adapter policy, Electrify America's terms and Tesla's Model 3 manual.
Road-trip kit and Black Friday listing checks
Tesla's CCS1 to NACS manual sets operation at −22°F to +122°F and storage at −40°F to +185°F. It also says to inspect for damage before use and protect the adapter from moisture and foreign objects. Pack the protected adapter and its manual, check your intended network's instructions, and plan a fallback charging stop.
For Tesla's adapter, connect the station cable to the adapter, then connect it to the car and follow the station's instructions to start charging. Confirm charging on the vehicle display, and stop the session before disconnecting. For slower AC stops, choose the appropriate equipment through our portable EV charger guide.
How we choose
We compare official manuals, vehicle-maker instructions, operator policies and UL's explanation of adapter standards. These are document-based selections; we have not physically evaluated the adapters. Blank specifications stay unconfirmed, and compatibility claims from an accessory maker do not establish vehicle-maker approval.
The manuals leave some purchase details unresolved, including Tesla's current rating and exact-revision certification. Confirm those details, availability and vehicle support with the maker before ordering. We recommend the Tesla purchase route because it combines vehicle-specific confirmation with a brand EVgo accepts, rather than assigning a third-party winner from headline ratings alone.
Verdict
Choose Tesla's own vehicle-confirmed adapter if CCS1 stops improve your route. Resolve a retrofit requirement before buying the plug, and keep a suitable Tesla adapter you already have. We do not recommend LENZ or Lectron for a Tesla purchase while vehicle-maker authorization remains unconfirmed; a larger electrical rating cannot settle that question.
Frequently asked questions
How do I know whether my Tesla supports a CCS1 adapter?
Open Controls > Software > Additional Vehicle Information and check the CCS support entry; its wording varies between the older adapter manual and the current Model 3 manual. Tesla documents enabled, not enabled and not compatible outcomes for Model 3, with retrofit eligibility checked in the mobile app. For other models or an unclear result, ask Tesla to confirm your exact vehicle before ordering.
Is the LENZ CCS1-to-Tesla adapter better than Tesla's own adapter?
Our starting recommendation is Tesla's own vehicle-confirmed adapter. LENZ's ADPT31101 manual specifies 500V DC, a protective case and SGS listing to UL 2251 and CSA C22.2 No. 282-17, but does not state an amp rating. EVgo excludes Tesla adapters made by other brands, so the LENZ is not our EVgo recommendation.
Is a CCS1-to-Tesla adapter the same as a NACS-to-CCS1 adapter?
No. A CCS1-to-Tesla adapter connects a CCS1 station cable to a compatible Tesla vehicle. Lectron's Vortex Plus works in the opposite direction: NACS DC charger to a CCS1 vehicle. Check the station-side inlet and vehicle-side plug before buying; a familiar brand or a similar product name is insufficient.
Will a 500A adapter make my Tesla charge faster?
A 500A label describes the Lectron adapter's rated current, not a promised charging rate for your Tesla. Tesla says charging time depends on station power and current, ambient conditions and battery temperature. Choose a supported combination first and plan charging stops around the vehicle and station, rather than treating the adapter's largest number as a speed upgrade.
