Skip to content

Comparison

AGM vs LiFePO4 for 12V Off-Grid Batteries

What Must Match?

Compare exact AGM and LiFePO4 batteries for a 12V off-grid replacement: usable energy, charger profiles, cold charging, case fit and the parts you still need.

By thisWATT EditorialUpdated November 3, 20267 min read

On this page · Quick picks

For a frequently cycled 12V off-grid battery system, our first lithium shortlist is the LiTime Xtra-Mini Bluetooth, provided a qualified installer confirms charging compatibility and suitable battery temperatures. Shortlist Renogy's 12V 100Ah deep-cycle AGM to retain an AGM system, LiTime's Group 24 Bluetooth Self-Heating for active warming, or Battle Born's standard BB10012 for its stated 10-year warranty. Match the charging equipment, usable-energy requirement, current limits and compartment before buying.

Quick picks

  • Compact lithium: LiTime Xtra-Mini Bluetooth. Choose it when space matters and charging can stay within its temperature limits.
  • Keep an AGM system: Renogy RNG-BATT-AGM12-100. Consider it when retaining the existing chemistry is the priority, after checking the documented profile.
  • Add heating: LiTime Group 24 Bluetooth Self-Heating. Choose it with a defined heating mode and energy supply.
  • Prioritize warranty: Battle Born BB10012, Non-Heated / Standard. Its stated warranty is longer than the other documented warranties here; resolve the temperature conflict first.

Terminology: LiFePO4, also called LFP, belongs to the lithium-ion family, as PNNL explains. AGM is lead-acid; this comparison concerns deep-cycle storage batteries, with the exact Renogy model identified in its official manual.

Compare the exact batteries

Dimensions are length × width × height in inches. Figures come from the linked manuals and maker specifications; these are battery limits, not AC inverter ratings.

LiTime Xtra-Mini Bluetooth

Capacity label
12.8V, 100Ah; 1,280Wh
Continuous discharge
100A
Case size
9.02 × 5.43 × 8.19
All specifications
Cold-charge decision
Charging stops below 32°F; resumes above 41°F

Renogy RNG-BATT-AGM12-100

Capacity label
12V, 100Ah at ten-hour rate to 10.5V
Continuous discharge
100A
Case size
13.1 × 6.9 × 8.6
All specifications
Cold-charge decision
Stated charge range: 32°F to 122°F

LiTime Group 24 Bluetooth Self-Heating

Capacity label
12.8V, 100Ah; 1,280Wh
Continuous discharge
100A
Case size
10.24 × 6.61 × 8.27, per spec table
All specifications
Cold-charge decision
Heating conditions apply; see below

Battle Born BB10012, Non-Heated / Standard

Capacity label
12V, 100Ah; Wh not specified in cited sheet
Continuous discharge
100A
Case size
12.76 × 6.86 × 8.95
All specifications
Cold-charge decision
Maker documents conflict; see below
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

Exact selectionCapacity labelContinuous dischargeCase sizeCold-charge decision
LiTime Xtra-Mini Bluetooth12.8V, 100Ah; 1,280Wh100A9.02 × 5.43 × 8.19Charging stops below 32°F; resumes above 41°F
Renogy RNG-BATT-AGM12-10012V, 100Ah at ten-hour rate to 10.5V100A13.1 × 6.9 × 8.6Stated charge range: 32°F to 122°F
LiTime Group 24 Bluetooth Self-Heating12.8V, 100Ah; 1,280Wh100A10.24 × 6.61 × 8.27, per spec tableHeating conditions apply; see below
Battle Born BB10012, Non-Heated / Standard12V, 100Ah; Wh not specified in cited sheet100A12.76 × 6.86 × 8.95Maker documents conflict; see below
Exact selectionCapacity labelContinuous dischargeCase sizeCold-charge decision
LiTime Xtra-Mini Bluetooth12.8V, 100Ah; 1,280Wh100A9.02 × 5.43 × 8.19Charging stops below 32°F; resumes above 41°F
Renogy RNG-BATT-AGM12-10012V, 100Ah at ten-hour rate to 10.5V100A13.1 × 6.9 × 8.6Stated charge range: 32°F to 122°F
LiTime Group 24 Bluetooth Self-Heating12.8V, 100Ah; 1,280Wh100A10.24 × 6.61 × 8.27, per spec tableHeating conditions apply; see below
Battle Born BB10012, Non-Heated / Standard12V, 100Ah; Wh not specified in cited sheet100A12.76 × 6.86 × 8.95Maker documents conflict; see below

Best compact lithium shortlist: LiTime Xtra-Mini Bluetooth

Choose the Xtra-Mini for its compact case and documented low-temperature charge cutoff. Its manual specifies 1,280Wh, 100A continuous discharge, 20A recommended charging, and 100A maximum continuous charging.

The manual specifies charging from 32°F to 122°F, with cutoff below 32°F and recovery above 41°F. Treat this as a temperature-protected option; do not budget for active warming from its cutoff function. If the compartment cannot meet that requirement when charging is available, consider the heated model instead.

Check the exact Xtra-Mini option at LiTime.

AGM replacement shortlist: Renogy 12V 100Ah Deep Cycle AGM

The selected battery is RNG-BATT-AGM12-100, covered by Renogy's US datasheet and manual. The adjacent 200Ah model is a different battery; do not borrow its dimensions or charging-current column.

Renogy lists 63.9 lb, 500 cycles at 50% depth of discharge, and a two-year material and workmanship warranty. Its manual advises against discharge below 50%. Choose it when retaining AGM fits the system plan; allow for the lifting weight and discharge allowance rather than comparing only the amp-hour label.

This AGM also has a 32°F minimum charging temperature. It does not solve frozen-compartment charging simply by being lead-acid.

Check the 100Ah deep-cycle AGM at Renogy.

Best heating option here: LiTime Group 24 Bluetooth Self-Heating

This model retains the stated 1,280Wh and 100A continuous discharge, adds selectable heating, and weighs approximately 22.71 lb, with a stated five-year warranty. The feature description distinguishes Regular mode, using charger input of at least 10A, from Energy-Efficient mode, which can supplement weaker input or heat from the battery when state of charge is above 20%.

Documentation needs checking. The manual's heating footnote says current must be greater than 10A, while the page says at least 10A for Regular mode. LiTime recommends its 14.6V 20A charger; have the installer confirm the supplied revision and heating mode. The page also gives 8.30 inches height in feature copy but 8.27 inches in its specification table and manual; confirm actual clearance.

Choose the single-battery option deliberately: the page separately offers multi-packs and an HBT Kit. Heating energy also belongs in the daily budget; weak charging input is not an unlimited heat supply.

Check the Group 24 heating option at LiTime.

Longest stated warranty here: Battle Born BB10012

The Non-Heated / Standard BB10012 has a stated 10-year warranty, 31 lb weight and 100A continuous discharge. Its datasheet limits charging to 50A. Select it for the warranty priority, after checking the terms for your use.

Battle Born's datasheet lists 25°F to 135°F charging, while its manual's charging-profile table says 32°F to 131°F. The manual also places a 25°F heading above text prohibiting charging below 32°F.

The shared documentation describes optional heating and smart communication; those features do not establish their inclusion in the selected standard battery. The heated model is BB10012H.

Check the standard BB10012 at Battle Born.

How we choose

We compared official battery specifications, manuals and charging-equipment documentation. Our picks prioritize a defined replacement job: case size, charging behavior, discharge allowance, cold operation and warranty. These are editorial judgments from documents, without physical testing. We name conflicting instructions and distinguish calculated estimates from manufacturer ratings. Read our research approach and disclosure.

Amp-hours versus usable energy

The government sizing explainer relates storage energy to amp-hours multiplied by voltage. Applying that arithmetic, Renogy's nominal 12V × 100Ah = 1,200 watt-hours; following its 50% discharge advice gives a planning allowance of 600 watt-hours. For either LiTime, 12.8V × 100Ah = 1,280Wh; choosing an 80% discharge allowance for this example gives 1,024Wh and leaves a reserve. That lithium allowance is our planning assumption, not a universal discharge limit.

Example energy allowances before losses and heating
  • Renogy AGM at its advised 50% discharge allowance600Wh
  • LiTime at an assumed 80% discharge allowance1024Wh

Source: Maker capacities and Renogy discharge advice; arithmetic explained above

Reserve matters for heating: an 80% discharge allowance leaves 20% state of charge. LiTime's battery-assisted heating requires above 20%, so this example's endpoint does not meet that condition; budget additional reserve or adequate charger input.

Inverter conversion consumes energy, as the same government source explains. Divide the chosen energy allowance by your load's watts for an estimated loss-free runtime, then account for conversion, heating and other consumption. Battery current limits still apply: a 100Ah label does not promise a particular AC output. For daily consumption and solar replenishment, continue with our 12V solar system guide.

Cycle claims need context: Renogy's manual gives 500 cycles at 50% depth of discharge; the heated LiTime's table claims 4,000 at 100%. Neither quoted table specifies a retained-capacity endpoint, so do not turn those claims into a guaranteed lifetime.

What the existing charger must match

Ask the installer to check every charging source, including the converter, inverter charger, solar controller and alternator charging equipment. Battle Born's charging instructions explicitly cover those components.

Renogy AGM

Documented charge profile
Cycle use 14.4–14.8V; float 13.5–13.8V at 77°F
Charge-current check
30A maximum continuous

Both LiTime selections

Documented charge profile
CC/CV, 14.4V ± 0.2V
Charge-current check
20A recommended; 100A maximum continuous

Battle Born standard

Documented charge profile
Absorption 14.2–14.6V; float 13.4–13.8V; temperature compensation disabled
Charge-current check
50A maximum
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

BatteryDocumented charge profileCharge-current check
Renogy AGMCycle use 14.4–14.8V; float 13.5–13.8V at 77°F30A maximum continuous
Both LiTime selectionsCC/CV, 14.4V ± 0.2V20A recommended; 100A maximum continuous
Battle Born standardAbsorption 14.2–14.6V; float 13.4–13.8V; temperature compensation disabled50A maximum
BatteryDocumented charge profileCharge-current check
Renogy AGMCycle use 14.4–14.8V; float 13.5–13.8V at 77°F30A maximum continuous
Both LiTime selectionsCC/CV, 14.4V ± 0.2V20A recommended; 100A maximum continuous
Battle Born standardAbsorption 14.2–14.6V; float 13.4–13.8V; temperature compensation disabled50A maximum

Renogy's documents also differ: its charging-logic paragraph gives 14.4V ± 0.2V, while its datasheet and cycle-use table give 14.4–14.8V. Its manual recommends periodic equalization, but Victron's controller manual says not to equalize AGM or lithium batteries. Have the battery and equipment makers resolve the applicable settings; do not infer approval from an “AGM” button.

For a documented solar-controller alternative, the Victron SmartSolar MPPT 100/30 manual provides adjustable maximum charging current and user-defined charge profiles. Those features make it a candidate for assessment against each battery's requirements, not blanket compatibility approval. Its configuration instructions also say low-temperature cutoff is disabled by default and requires battery-temperature information through VE.Smart Networking. The controller's own temperature sensor is not sufficient for that feature.

Cold charging, storage and the complete replacement

Separate charging, discharging and storage temperatures. Both LiTime manuals allow discharge down to −4°F but specify storage only from 14°F to 122°F. A winter discharge rating therefore does not approve leaving the battery in any winter storage conditions. For that use, see our winter RV battery guide.

Measure the actual compartment and terminal clearance rather than relying on a group-size label. Then ask for a written replacement list:

  1. Confirm the exact battery

    Record the variant, dimensions, terminal fit and supplied documentation.

  2. Approve every charging source

    Match voltage, current, charging stages, temperature behavior and heating requirements.

  3. Approve the loads and bank

    Check continuous and starting demand; use the maker's matching-battery rules.

  4. Confirm the complete contents

    Identify retained equipment and everything still required by the system design.

Renogy's manual lists the battery and terminal bolts; LiTime's single heated-battery option lists the battery, washers, screws and insulation caps; Battle Born lists finishing hardware. Those lists do not supply a complete charging or AC power system. A solar build also needs the applicable controller, inverter for AC loads, mounting and protection equipment, as the government component guide explains. Have a qualified specialist design and install the system; home backup needs a licensed electrician and a permit where required.

Verdict

Choose Xtra-Mini Bluetooth for a compact lithium shortlist, Renogy's exact deep-cycle AGM to retain an AGM design, Group 24 Self-Heating when a documented heating plan fits, or BB10012 Standard when the stated warranty is the priority. Make the system checks decide the purchase. For chemistry beyond this replacement decision, read LiFePO4 versus other lithium-ion batteries.

Frequently asked questions

Can I replace a 12V AGM battery with LiFePO4?

Possibly, after a system check. Battle Born explicitly requires checking converters, inverter chargers, solar controllers and DC-to-DC chargers against its charging profile. Renogy also warns against mixing battery chemistries in a bank. Have a qualified installer assess the complete replacement, including current limits, temperature protection and physical fit, before ordering the battery.

Can I charge a 12V lithium battery with an AGM charger?

The charger's documented behavior decides. Renogy specifies a cycle-use range reaching 14.8V for this AGM, while LiTime specifies 14.4V ± 0.2V and Battle Born specifies 14.2V to 14.6V absorption. A charger must meet the selected battery's complete profile, including current, equalization and temperature behavior. A matching nominal voltage alone is insufficient.

Is a 100Ah AGM battery the same capacity as 100Ah LiFePO4?

Amp-hours alone do not establish usable energy. These LiTime batteries specify 12.8V and 1,280Wh; Renogy specifies 12V and 100Ah at a ten-hour discharge rate. Renogy advises against discharge below 50%. Compare nominal watt-hours, the chosen discharge allowance and conversion losses, then check whether the battery can support the required load current.

Is AGM better than LiFePO4 for an unheated off-grid battery compartment?

Do not assume so for charging: this Renogy AGM and the Xtra-Mini both specify a 32°F minimum charge temperature. LiTime's heated Group 24 adds a warming system with mode-dependent energy requirements. Battle Born's standard battery documents disagree on its minimum charging temperature. Choose from the exact limits and heating plan rather than a chemistry-wide cold-weather promise.

Can I keep an AGM battery and add LiFePO4 in parallel?

Do not treat that as the replacement plan. Renogy's manual says not to mix chemistries, brands, models or capacities in a connected bank. LiTime's manual also requires matching batteries for series or parallel use. Ask the installer to specify a complete compatible bank rather than combining the new purchase with the existing AGM.

Related guides