Skip to content

Best picks

Best 400W Portable Solar Panels for Power Stations

Compare four 400W portable solar panels by carrying weight, packed size, deployment space and cables, then check voltage and current against your power station.

By thisWATT EditorialUpdated November 3, 20268 min read

On this page · Quick picks

For a 400 watt solar panel you will repeatedly carry from the car, our folding-panel pick is the Anker SOLIX PS400 Bifacial, with a listed weight of 21.9 lb—provided Anker confirms the missing electrical limits for your station. Choose the Renogy 400W Lightweight Portable Solar Suitcase for kickstands and a protective case, or the Renogy 400W N-Type blanket when packed size matters most. The classic EcoFlow 400W portable panel is another option, but its conflicting regional specifications deserve extra care.

Quick picks

These picks cover portable station charging. For permanently installed RV or cabin modules, start with our 12V solar system buying guide. For smaller panels, use the broader portable solar panel guide.

Compare the space and weight you actually carry

The dimensions below come from Anker's US page, Renogy's suitcase page, its blanket manual, and EcoFlow's Canadian classic-panel table. Weights have different boundaries; none is a confirmed complete station-and-panel kit weight.

Anker PS400 Bifacial

Published load to budget around
21.9 lb listed; feature copy rounds to 22 lb including stand
Folded dimensions, inches
22.3 × 38.7 × 3.2
Open panel rectangle, inches
90.2 × 38.7

Renogy RSP400LSC-US suitcase

Published load to budget around
30.2 lb panel; case addition not stated
Folded dimensions, inches
27.9 × 33.7 × 3.2, disputed thickness
Open panel rectangle, inches
111.8 × 33.7

Renogy RSP400SB-US blanket

Published load to budget around
16.09 lb listed; strap weight boundary not stated
Folded dimensions, inches
16.54 × 15.83 × 4.13
Open panel rectangle, inches
64.96 × 62.99

EcoFlow classic portable

Published load to budget around
35.3 lb panel; approximately 41.9 lb with kickstand case, Canadian table
Folded dimensions, inches
Not confirmed
Open panel rectangle, inches
94.1 × 42.0, Canadian table
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

Exact panelPublished load to budget aroundFolded dimensions, inchesOpen panel rectangle, inches
Anker PS400 Bifacial21.9 lb listed; feature copy rounds to 22 lb including stand22.3 × 38.7 × 3.290.2 × 38.7
Renogy RSP400LSC-US suitcase30.2 lb panel; case addition not stated27.9 × 33.7 × 3.2, disputed thickness111.8 × 33.7
Renogy RSP400SB-US blanket16.09 lb listed; strap weight boundary not stated16.54 × 15.83 × 4.1364.96 × 62.99
EcoFlow classic portable35.3 lb panel; approximately 41.9 lb with kickstand case, Canadian tableNot confirmed94.1 × 42.0, Canadian table
Exact panelPublished load to budget aroundFolded dimensions, inchesOpen panel rectangle, inches
Anker PS400 Bifacial21.9 lb listed; feature copy rounds to 22 lb including stand22.3 × 38.7 × 3.290.2 × 38.7
Renogy RSP400LSC-US suitcase30.2 lb panel; case addition not stated27.9 × 33.7 × 3.2, disputed thickness111.8 × 33.7
Renogy RSP400SB-US blanket16.09 lb listed; strap weight boundary not stated16.54 × 15.83 × 4.1364.96 × 62.99
EcoFlow classic portable35.3 lb panel; approximately 41.9 lb with kickstand case, Canadian tableNot confirmed94.1 × 42.0, Canadian table

For panel area in square feet, multiply the listed open length × width ÷ 144. That rectangle is different from tilted ground projection and excludes clearance for supports, leads and walking. The blanket is nearly square; the suitcase is long and narrow. Tape out both shapes before choosing a campsite-sized panel.

Open panel width to allow for
  • Anker PS400 Bifacial38.7in
  • Renogy suitcase33.7in
  • Renogy blanket62.99in
  • EcoFlow classic, Canadian table42.0in

Source: Official open dimensions in the table above. Support clearance is additional.

For carrying, add the station, required leads and any separate controller to the relevant panel/case figure. Cable weights are not published in these cited panel specifications, so a precise all-in total would be misleading. Ask for the packed weight of your exact bundle if lifting it is the deciding factor.

Best folding panel: Anker SOLIX PS400 Bifacial

The PS400 Bifacial is our preferred folding format for repeated car-to-site moves: its listed 21.9 lb and included stand make a persuasive combination. Anker lists two 8.2 ft solar charging cables and a 1.6 ft XT60i charging cable in the box.

Its important limitation is documentation. The US table labels 48V / 8.33A as “PV Output”, without identifying Voc or Isc. Those numbers cannot clear a station's maximum-voltage and short-circuit-current checks. Get the limits for this exact bifacial model before committing to a pairing; an older PS400's figures are insufficient.

Anker advertises up to 10% additional bifacial power in reflective surroundings. Treat that as conditional, not extra guaranteed daily energy. Although the panel has an IP68 claim, Anker's FAQ says to avoid heavy rain and submersion.

Best suitcase: Renogy 400W Lightweight Portable Solar Suitcase

Choose RSP400LSC-US, 400W – 1 Pack when you value its kickstands and protective case. Its official electrical table supplies the useful matching values: 47.2V Voc, 40V operating voltage, 11A Isc and 10A operating current.

Keep the 220W option, two-panel pack and 40A MPPT controller bundle separate. The standalone package does not include that controller, and the linked suitcase manual says the station charging cable is sold separately. An external battery-controller bundle is a different purchase from a station-ready lead.

There is a storage trap: the product page says 3.2 inches folded thickness, while its manual says 0.8 inches, the same thickness it gives unfolded. We use the larger page figure for provisional planning and would confirm it before buying for a tight compartment. The page lists 30.2 lb; the manual rounds differently to 30.25 lb, both alongside 13.7 kg. Neither establishes the added case weight.

Best blanket: Renogy 400W N-Type Portable Solar Panel Blanket

The 400W blanket, RSP400SB-US, is our compact-storage pick. Its linked manual identifies the 400W column as RSP400SB-G3: 16.09 lb and 16.54 × 15.83 × 4.13 inches folded. Match that manual revision to the delivered label.

The trade-off is its broad, nearly square open shape. Renogy describes ground, vehicle and hanging uses; buyers wanting a freestanding support arrangement should favor a kickstand model. The manual lists shoulder straps and MC4 outputs, with the station charging cable sold separately.

The 400W blanket has no USB output. The shared page's USB feature copy is not a 400W specification: both its FAQ and the manual assign USB to the 200W version. The manual also calls the blanket IP65 splash-proof and warns against extended rain exposure. It is a poor choice if your plan depends on leaving it outside through wet weather.

Classic option: EcoFlow 400W Portable Solar Panel

The US classic-panel page lists a folding design, adjustable support and an included solar-to-XT60 cable. However, the usable electrical and weight table is on EcoFlow's Canadian page: 48V Voc, 41V operating voltage, 11A Isc, 9.8A operating current, and 19 kg with the kickstand case.

That page conflicts with itself. Its prose says 27.5 lb, versus 35.3 lb for the panel in its specification table; its comparison block gives 93.1 × 43.7 inches open, versus 94.1 × 42.0 in the specification table. Our table uses the latter figures as a cautious reference, not a confirmed US-unit measurement. Confirm the supplied unit's dimensions, carried weight and charging lead before ordering.

Compatibility before wattage

Anker PS400 Bifacial

Voc
Not identified
Operating voltage
48V “PV Output,” not confirmed Vmp
Isc
Not identified
All specifications
Operating current
8.33A “PV Output,” not confirmed Imp
Station cable evidence
XT60i plus two solar cables included

Renogy suitcase

Voc
47.2V
Operating voltage
40V
Isc
11A
All specifications
Operating current
10A
Station cable evidence
MC4 output; station cable separate

Renogy blanket

Voc
39.2V
Operating voltage
33.6V
Isc
13.1A
All specifications
Operating current
11.9A
Station cable evidence
MC4 output; station cable separate

EcoFlow classic, Canadian table

Voc
48V
Operating voltage
41V
Isc
11A
All specifications
Operating current
9.8A
Station cable evidence
US page includes XT60; verify station's required revision
Full comparison table

Swipe to compare. Row labels stay visible.

PanelVocOperating voltageIscOperating currentStation cable evidence
Anker PS400 BifacialNot identified48V “PV Output,” not confirmed VmpNot identified8.33A “PV Output,” not confirmed ImpXT60i plus two solar cables included
Renogy suitcase47.2V40V11A10AMC4 output; station cable separate
Renogy blanket39.2V33.6V13.1A11.9AMC4 output; station cable separate
EcoFlow classic, Canadian table48V41V11A9.8AUS page includes XT60; verify station's required revision
PanelVocOperating voltageIscOperating currentStation cable evidence
Anker PS400 BifacialNot identified48V “PV Output,” not confirmed VmpNot identified8.33A “PV Output,” not confirmed ImpXT60i plus two solar cables included
Renogy suitcase47.2V40V11A10AMC4 output; station cable separate
Renogy blanket39.2V33.6V13.1A11.9AMC4 output; station cable separate
EcoFlow classic, Canadian table48V41V11A9.8AUS page includes XT60; verify station's required revision

These values come from the same official panel sources above. Voc is the open-circuit limit check; operating voltage is a different figure.

Before buying a panel
  1. Read the exact station manual

    Identify its solar voltage window, current rules, power ceiling and required connector.

  2. Check the exact panel label

    Obtain Voc, Isc and operating values for that model and revision; confirm cold-weather voltage margin.

  3. Audit the bundle

    Confirm the station-approved lead, support/case and whether a separate battery controller is actually needed.

The DELTA 3 Plus manual specifies 11–60V, 15A and 500W per port. The Renogy suitcase, blanket and classic EcoFlow reference values pass its nominal Voc/Isc screen; that is not blanket approval of a cable or cold-weather setup. Anker remains unconfirmed because its page omits those limits.

The RIVER 3 Plus manual gives 220W maximum, 13A, and panel voltage below 55V. Renogy's blanket has 13.1A Isc; its own manual additionally requires a station with more than 13.1A input capability and at least 400W input. We therefore do not recommend that pairing. Do not substitute the blanket's lower 11.9A operating current for Isc.

Clipping is conditional on an approved pairing. Even if a maker permits an oversized array, a station's charging ceiling still limits harvested power. A 220W input cannot deliver a 400W charge. Nor is a matching plug electrical approval: EcoFlow's US panel page says XT60, while the cited station manuals specify an XT60i charging cable. Confirm the complete lead with the station maker.

Daily energy, shade and the final bundle check

Renogy explains that its rating uses standard test conditions, including 1,000W/m² irradiance and 25°C; angle, shade, temperature and system losses affect actual output. For planning only, use daily Wh ≈ panel W × equivalent full-sun hours × an assumed system factor, then consider the station's charging limits.

Illustrative energy at nameplate power: 400W × five equivalent full-sun hours = 2,000Wh, before losses or station clipping. Renogy's suitcase FAQ describes up to 2,000Wh under optimal conditions and estimates 1,600–1,800Wh daily in real conditions. Treat that as the maker's estimate, not a winter guarantee.

Five equivalent full-sun hours is an assumption, not a local forecast or a charging-time promise. Peak-sun hours are equivalent full-intensity hours, not daylight duration. A large panel does not guarantee enough energy for an overnight load; compare this estimate with your daily Wh demand in the watt calculator. Do not budget as though shade affects only the shaded patch: the cited manuals warn that shade reduces charging output without promising a universal loss percentage.

  • Yes: Exact wattage and model revision match the specifications
  • Yes: Supplied station lead is confirmed for the input
  • Partly: Controller bundle: useful only if your separate battery system requires it
  • No: USB claims from the 200W blanket applied to the 400W model
  • No: Panel-only weight presented as complete carried-kit weight

How we choose

This is a manufacturer-document comparison, not a physical performance assessment. We checked official product pages and linked manuals, including current US variant availability data, on November 2, 2026. We prioritized support format, packed and open dimensions, carrying boundaries, electrical limits and supplied equipment. Missing values stay missing, conflicting values remain visible, and the area formula and energy illustration are labeled. Amazon listing identities await owner confirmation, so purchase links go to the makers.

Verdict

Start with Anker's PS400 Bifacial for a folding panel if its missing electrical limits can be confirmed. Pick the Renogy suitcase for kickstands and a case, or the Renogy blanket for compact storage after allowing for its square deployment space. Choose the classic EcoFlow only after resolving the regional specification and cable questions. Buy the format your station, storage compartment and carrying limit all accept.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best 400 watt solar panel for a power station?

Our folding-panel pick is the Anker SOLIX PS400 Bifacial if Anker confirms its open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current for your station. Choose Renogy's 400W Lightweight Portable Solar Suitcase for its kickstands and protective case, or its 400W blanket for compact storage. The blanket's listed 16.09 lb is the lowest published unit weight here, but complete cable-kit weights are not confirmed for every model.

Can I connect a 400W panel to a 200W or 220W power station?

Do not decide from watts alone. The station maker must allow the panel's voltage, short-circuit current, connector and oversized array. For example, RIVER 3 Plus has a 220W solar ceiling and a 13A limit; Renogy's blanket specifies 13.1A Isc, so we do not recommend that pairing. An approved oversized panel can still be limited by the station's charging ceiling. Excess available power does not become extra battery capacity.

How much energy does a 400W solar panel produce per day?

For an illustration, 400W × five equivalent full-sun hours gives 2,000Wh before losses and station clipping. Renogy describes up to 2,000Wh in optimal conditions for its suitcase and estimates 1,600–1,800Wh daily in real conditions; those figures are not a local winter forecast. Shade, temperature, orientation, weather and station limits change the result. Budget using local conditions rather than daylight duration.

Does the Renogy 400W solar blanket have USB ports?

No. The linked manual identifies RSP400SB-G3 as the 400W model and lists MC4 output with USB output marked N/A. The 200W RPP200SB-SE-G1 is the USB-equipped version. The combined product page contains USB feature copy, but its FAQ also limits USB to the 200W blanket. For station charging, the 400W manual specifies a separate solar charging cable. Check the model label before buying.

Related guides